My kind of Holiday afternoon fun at home: movie and homemade treats

When I come home from work on the weekend, I like to sometimes just stay home, watch movies and chat with my family. This time of year, it is even more fun. We watch silly Christmas movies and laugh. Today we also baked. I made these amazing Gluten Free Cranberry Oatmeal Almond Orange Zest scones. Unfortunately I cannot take credit for them!   I found the recipe on this wonderful website. Please stop by to thank Amie at www.thehealthyapple.com if you make it. It is such a healthy recipe. Everyone will love it!

orange zest scones

  • 3 cups gluten-free oats
  • 2 Tbsps chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/3 cups dried cranberries
  • 2 tsp. fresh orange zest
  • 1/3 cup silvered almonds
  • 3/4 cup Coconut Milk
  • 2 Tbsps lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar

For more accurate directions, please visit the website above.

I changed the recipe just a little bit. I ran out of chia seeds 2 days ago so I omitted. I added flaxseeds instead. I added vegan chocolate chips this time also and I decided to make them scones instead of muffins.

To go with this, I made my homemade pumpkin drink. Instead of buying the Starbucks holiday drinks, I like to make them. I do not drink milk or soy milk so at home, I make my yummy hot drinks with almond or coconut milk. I add some can pumpkin until almost to a boil, add some honey and agave and I’m ready to enjoy my favorite drink this time of year. I sometimes add nutmeg and cinnamon. No artificial pumpkin syrup!!!

I hope you try it. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

2 thoughts on “My kind of Holiday afternoon fun at home: movie and homemade treats

Leave a Reply

